Say it with a biscuit ♥

I was feeling a little lost for ideas and fun stuff today as the cold snap is back :/ So after browsing the net/blogs for a while I came across some simple iced biscuits on BBC and thought I would give them a try but put my own twist on it. I started off with my IKEA animal cutters, although they’re a bit fiddly and actually quite large, so I moved on to simple round biscuits and a single giant heart for my other half. The recipe I used is this-

  • 100g softened butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 275g plain flour

Preheat the oven to C*190. Beat the sugar and the butter until smooth, add the egg and then the vanilla. Mix in the flour. Roll out the dough on floured surface, about 1cm thick (the dough is really sticky at this point so make sure you have flour handy. Cut the cookies and place on a baking tray and bake 8-10 min till golden. Be careful as these can reach burnt state quite quickly, so keep an eye on them. Once done cool on the wire rack till there’s no heat left as it will melt the icing. For the icing i gradually mixed in tiny amounts of water into icing sugar till I reached desired consistency. Add few drops of food colouring. For the piping i used a cone made out of greaseproof paper disc as its easy and can be thrown away once you’re done. Now have fun! Here’s some pics of my creations…

Leave a Reply

